Winners announced for the SkillsHouse Careers and Technical Education Awards 2023

Taking place on Tuesday 4th July at the University of Bradford’s Great Hall, the awards were also an opportunity to thank educators and local organisations for their fundamental work in helping young people develop the skills they need for the future.

This year saw over 100 more nominations than last year, as well as amazing performances from Hanson Dance Company, CC Dance Company and Every Mind is Different sung by Asher Titre & Lauren Southgate from Healthy Minds.

Councillor Imran Khan, Bradford Council’s portfolio holder for Education, Employment and Skills, said: 

“So much has been achieved by our young people across the District this year and what better way to celebrate this than through the SkillsHouse Careers and Technical Education Awards.

“This year’s awards were the biggest yet and I would like to personally congratulate all the finalists on their amazing achievements. It has given everyone the opportunity to reflect back on the amazing things they have accomplished this year.

“It is fundamental that we continue to nurture the excellent relationships we have with local businesses through the SkillsHouse Careers & Technical Education Partnership to ensure we are providing our young people with the skills they need to unlock their potential.”

Following on from the huge success of this year’s awards, nominations for the 2024 SkillsHouse CTE Awards open in September of this year.

SkillsHouse Careers and Technical Education is part of the wider SkillsHouse team, Bradford Council’s employment and skills service. To find out more and get involved, email BradfordCTE@bradford.gov.uk.

Primary Learner of the Year:

Team Player - Riley Whittaker-Duffy

Shining Star - Isabella Hall

Leader - Zakirah Hussain

The Resolver - Oan Saeed

Most Career Focussed - Raheema Hafejee

Educator of the Year:

Rachel Hoyland

Outstanding Business of the Year:

Hays Recruitment (Jonathan Gascoigne)

Sustainability Champions:

Recover Energy/Save Time - Sadoon Raqeed

Recover Energy/Save Time - Sabee Shah

Learner of the Year:

Business - Shane Jarvis

Health and Social Care - Kara Colbeck

Public Services and Law - Duhaa Hasan Khan

Built Environment - Amin Hussain

Hospitality, Tourism and Sport - Gilda DeOliveira

Transport, Distribution and Logistics - Junaid Ayub

Creative Industries - Carys Marshall

Computing, Science and Environmental Technologies - Amy Kelsall

Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering - Matthew Thornton

Bradford Essential Skills Learner of the Year:

Flexibility and Adaptability - Emma Charnock

Social and Cross-Cultural Skills - Emma Kershaw

Leadership and Responsibility - Lewis Sanderson

Initiative and Self-Direction - Alisha Ubaid

Critical Thinking and Problem-Solving - Matthew Thompson

Creativity and Innovation - Umaimah Siddique

Productivity and Accountability - Rabea Sultana

Communication and Collaboration - Zama Abdullah

Longstanding Contribution Award:

Paul Birtles

Nick Garthwaite

Heather Savage